LT-400(Rev. 1/16)
APPLICATION FOR NEW DEALER LICENSE OR CHANGES TO EXISTING LICENSE
North Carolina Department of Transportation
Division of Motor Vehicles
License and Theft Bureau Dealer Unit

3129 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1329

New License number Current License Number Additional Location Yes No

Name Change Corporate Officer Change/Addition For Record Only Change

The undersigned hereby applies for a license to engage in the business of buying, selling, engaging or dealing in motor vehicles or

offering or displaying motor vehicles for sale as provided by Article 12, Chapter 20 of the North Carolina General Statues and gives
the following information.

1. Check space which indicates the Type of License being applied for:

Dealer License-$90.00 Wholesale Dealer License-$90.00 Factory Branch License-$130.00
Distributor License-$90.00 Manufacture Dealer License-$195.00
*Ownership Type: Individual Partnership Limited Partnership Corporation LLC

2. Complete Firm Name

DBA (If operating with a different name)

3. Physical Address

City State Zip Code

County Business Telephone Number

(Please note: A Post Office Box must be in the same city as the Dealership)

Mailing Address City. Zip Code

4. Ifyouhold a franchise or manufacture, assemble or distribute motor vehicles, please provide the following information:

MAKE MANUFACTURE, DISTRIBUTOR OR WHOLESALER ADDRESS

5. Corporations/LLC : Name (if other than firm name)
Date Incorporated/Filed State
If not incorporated under Laws of North Carolina, are you in compliance with NCGS 55-15.017 Yes No
A North Carolina Certificate of Authority must be filed for an out of State Corporation. Date Filed:

6. Print or type age, name, address and title of owner, partners, members (LLC) or officers (Corporation) below:
AGE NAME ADDRESS TITLE




7. If partnership, date of partnership

8. If a corporation, your title Are you authorized to bind the corporation by your

signature?

9. List additional locations within North Carolina owned by you at which motor vehicles are sold

10. Qualifying Sales Representative- A person who works at least 25 hours per week on a regular basis and is
compensated by the dealer for his work.

How many qualifying sales representatives do you have employed

11. If a business is to be operated under any designation, name or style, other than the real name of the owner, or owners
or under its corporate name, an “assumed” name must be filed with the Register of Deeds in the County in which the
business is to be operated and proof of that filing must accompany this application. Is it attached?

12. Applicant’s home address during the past 5 years

13. State your previous businesses or occupations and addressed during the last 5 years. List forms or organizations and
positions held, with dates:

14. Retail-An “established salesroom” as defined by Statute means an office containing at least 96 square feet in a
permanent enclosed building, with a sign in block letters not less than three (3) inches high designating he trade name of the
business and at which a permanent business of trading, bartering and selling motor vehicles will be carried on in good faith.

Does your office meet the requirements of an “established salesroom?”

Wholesaler- An “established office” as defined by Statute means an office containing at least 96 square feet in a permanent
enclosed building and is a place where the books, records and files required by the Division under this Article are kept.

Does your office meet the requirements of an “established office?”

Will applicant in good faith carry on said business and keep and maintain the books, records and files which will be
available at all reasonable hours to inspection by the Commissioner of the Motor Vehicles or any of his Inspectors or duly
appointed agents?

15. If application is for a “used motor vehicle dealer license”, has the applicant within the last twelve (12) months completed
a 12-hour licensing course approved by the Division as required by NCGS 20-288(A1)? If yes, attach
the certificate.
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16. Will applicant keep a book of record of the purchase, sale or exchange, or receipt for the purpose of sale, of any motor
vehicle, a description of such motor vehicle, together with the name and address of the seller, the purchaser and the alleged
owner or other person from whom such motor vehicle was purchased or received or to whom it was sold or delivered, as
the case may be?

Such description shall include the identification number, and such other numbers or identification marks as may be
thereon and shall also include a statement that a number has been obliterated, defaced or changed, if such is the fact and
shall be maintained for five (5) years.

17. Before a dealer’s license can be issued, the location and type of business must be in compliance with all zoning
ordinances or regulations. Have you determined from the proper authorities that your dealership and its location is in
compliance with zoning ordinances or regulations?

18. Regulations require that you purchase a local “Traders” license before the Division may issue a dealer’s license. Have
you complied with this regulation?

19. Have you ever been convicted of an offense of receiving or transferring stolen vehicles (NCGS 20-106), fraud in
connection with rental vehicles (NCGS 20-106.1), injuring or tampering with vehicles (NCGS 20-107), making false
affidavit-perjury (NCGS 20-112) or odometer fraud ( NCGS 20-343), within five years next preceding the date of filing
this application for license; or have you ever been convicted in the past of a felony involving moral turpitude under the
laws of this State, another State, or the United States? Yes No

20. Has any applicant (which shall include any partner or corporate officer) ever been refused, or had a dealer’s license
certificate revokes or suspended? If yes, attach a statement giving facts.

21. Do you as an applicant understand that you must endorse the application for each sales representative employed
by you and that you are responsible for the acts of all sales representatives employed by you while acting as your
agent?

22. North Carolina Law (NCGS 20-290) requires a motor vehicle dealer to specify the location of each place of business
occupied or to be occupied. After having been issued a license and you plan to relocate or terminate your business,
will you notify your local Motor Vehicle Inspector of the Division prior to relocating or terminating such business?

23. Will applicant have in his possession a duly assigned certificate of title from the owner of each motor vehicle in
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 20 of North Carolina General Statutes from the time when the motor
vehicle is delivered to him until it has been disposed of by him?

24. Will applicant see to it that all motor vehicles in his possession are operated with proper license plates attached?

25. Will applicant comply with the laws and regulations governing the use of dealer license plates and dealer
transporter plates?

26. Is applicant familiar with provisions of applicable laws and DMV regulations?

27. Prior to the issuance or renewal of a motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, distributor, distributor branch, factory
branch or wholesaler, the applicant must have on file with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles a surety or cash bond
in the amount of $50,000 or the equivalent thereof. |s the original signed bond attached?

Type

28. If application is for an additional location, applicant must have on file with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles a
surety or cash bond in the amount of $25,000 for the fixed equivalent thereof. Is the original sighed bond attached?

Type
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CERTIFICATION

| certify as proprietor, partner, or corporate officer of this firm, | have authority to sign and submit this application and
the statements contained therein are true and correct.

| further certify on behalf of said firm, including myself, that every owner, partner or corporate officer is familiar with
the North Carolina Motor Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers Licensing Law and with other North Carolina laws
governing the conduct and operation of the business for which license is sought; and will comply with the provisions of
these laws and with all lawful regulations of the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles; and further, will cooperate
with the Division of Motor Vehicles in eliminating fraudulent sales, the employment of fraudulent sales, the
employments of fraudulent devices, methods or practices, unfair competition, deceptive or misleading advertising and
particularly the advertisement for sale of used motor vehicle as new motor vehicles.

| hereby certify that neither myself nor any other owner, partner or corporate officer has been convicted of receiving
or transferring stolen vehicles (NCGS 20-106), fraud in connection with rental vehicles (NCGS 20-106.1), injuring or
tampering with vehicles (NCGS 20-107), making a false affidavit-perjury (NCGS 20-112), or odometer fraud (NCGS 20-
243), within five years next preceding the date of filing this application for license; nor have | ever been convicted in
the past of a felony involving moral turpitude under the laws of this State, another State or the United States.

Complete Firm Name Date

Signature Title

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20

Notary Public SEAL

Address

My Commission Expires

FEES AND INSURANCE CERTIFICATION

This is to certify that | have garage liability insurance with
policy number as required by the North Carolina Financial Responsibility Act
of 1957, and certify that there has not been a license plate revocation.

Dealer License Certificate- S

Quantity of first 5 plates x Plate fee of $36.00 + RTA Fee (if applicable, see below) $ = S
Quantity of additional dealer plates x Plate fee of $18.00 + RTA Fee (if applicable) $ = S
Quantity of dealer transporter plates x Plate fee of $18.00 + RTA Fee (if applicable) $ =S

Regional Transit Authority Tax (RTA) fees —In counties where a special tax has been authorized, an additional fee for
each plate will be due as indicated:

Wake County $5.00 per plate Randolph County $1.00 per plate Orange/Durham County $15.00 per plate.

Number of Sales Representative applications (LT-426) attached x $20.00 per individual = S
Number of Temporary Marker sets requested at $25.00 per set of 25 = S
TOTAL FEES PAID: $



