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Introduction 

When reviewing a request for the issuance 
of an oversize/overweight permit, the North 
Carolina Department of Transportation’s top 
priority is the safety of the motoring public and 
the protection of our state highway system. 

The NCDOT Oversize/Overweight Permit Handbook 
is provided to answer questions relating to movement 
of qualified vehicles and/or commodities that 
exceed the specified limits in North Carolina law. 

This booklet is for general information. Specific 
publications are available upon request. Please 
refer to page 25. 

North Carolina Laws 

Width 
102 inches (8 feet 6 inches) – on all roads in 

North Carolina 

Height 
14 feet

Weight 
Gross weight is determined by the extreme 
axle measurement (federal bridge law) 
Single axle – 20,000 pounds 
Tandem axle – 38,000 pounds 

Length 
Single vehicle – 40 feet 
Vehicle combination – 60 feet 
Exception: (Truck tractor/53-foot semi-trailer 

combination with no overall length 
limitation is allowed on all roads. 

***Publication M-13*** 

Overhang 
Rear overhang in excess of 4 feet is required to 
display a 18-inch-square red flag for daytime 
travel and clearance lights during nighttime 
travel. Loads shall not extend more than 
14 feet beyond the rear of the bed or body of 
the vehicle. Maximum overhang is limited to 
14 feet. 

***Publication L-14*** 
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Qualification 

To qualify for a permit: 

Overweight 
One item/commodity qualifies for 
overweight; multiple items do not qualify 
for an overweight permit. 

Overwidth 
One item/commodity or multiple items 
loaded in line qualifies for overwidth; 
multiple items cannot be loaded side by side 
creating width exceeding 8 feet 6 inches. 

Overlength 
One item/commodity of continuous 
length qualifies for overlength; multiple 
items cannot be loaded in line creating 
overlength in excess of limits specified by 
North Carolina law dependent upon route 
of travel. 

Overheight 
One item/commodity qualifies for overheight; 
stacked items/commodities cannot exceed 
the legal height of 14 feet. 

It is the responsibility of the permittee to 
reduce all overdimension and/or overweight 
loads to the least dimension and weight prior 
to application for a N.C. permit. 

Telephone 

A total of four permit requests may be accepted 
during one telephone request. Multiple permits for 
one multi-sectional mobile home is considered one 
permit request. 

Toll Free Calls 
1-888-574-6683 (single trip permit)
1-888-221-8166 (administrative personnel/

annual permit/superload permit) 

Local Calls 
(919) 814-3700 (administrative personnel/annual
permit/superload permit)

Application 

1 

2 

3 

4 
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Fax 

Single Trip: (919) 662-4320; (919) 662-4319 
Annual: (919) 662-4318 

Address: 

Oversize/Overweight Permit Unit 
750 N Greenfield Parkway 
Garner, NC 27529 

Internet 
The Internet Permit Application System provides 
an easy way to apply for OSOW trip permits. 
To use this system, you must register with our 
office. A user identification and password is 
required for access to the system. For a 
registration packet including more information, 
call the NCDOT Central Permit Office 
at(919)814-3700 or 1-888-221-8166. 

Company Check 
PERSONAL CHECKS CANNOT BE ACCEPTED 

Credit Card 
American Express, MasterCard, Discover or 
VISA are accepted. 

Direct Fax Escrow Account 
An application and escrow deposit are required 
to establish the account allowing a participant to 
receive permits directly from the Central Permit 
Office. A monthly activity statement will be 
emailed. 

***Publication DF-4*** 

Permit Service Agencies 
Contact the Central Permit Office for a current 
listing of permit service agencies doing business 
with our office. 

***Publication PSA-10*** 

Method of Payment 
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Permit Type 

Fee $185 per vehicle (non-divisible

general commodities) 

$200 per vehicle (mobile homes) 

Valid One year from effective date

Width 12 feet maximum*
            * 14 feet farm equipment

 

Length 105 feet hauling one item commodity
or truck tractor/53-feet semi-trailer 
combination hauling multiple 
commodities in line (not route 
specific) 

60 feet with truck/trailer 
combination hauling multiple 
commodities in line 

105-feet toter/mobile 
home combination 

Height 14 feet (legal)

Overweight Minimum 51-foot wheelbase,
(One item) vehicle combinations can qualify 

for movement up to 90,000 
pounds. (Travel not authorized on 
posted roads or posted bridges.) 

Over 90,000 pounds, route specific 
(exact origin, detailed route and 
destination). 

Identified by Power unit license and serial number

Issued to Registered owner of power unit

* Mobile homes not exceeding unit width of 14 feet
with a total roof overhang of 12 inches may apply
for an annual permit if moving from a manufacture,
dealer sales lot (permit coissued) to customer's
homesite, another dealer or out of state. (PF-27)

* Mobile homes not exceeding 16 feet with maximum
of a 3 inch gutter edge may apply for an annual
permit if moving from a specific manufacturing
facility to a specific dealer sales lot identified by
dealer name and license number (maximum 30
routes). (PF-27 & PF-27A)

Annual Permit 
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Gross Weights 

5, 6 or 7 axles 90,000 lbs. 
(minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(annual permit – not to cross posted roads or 
posted bridges) 

5 axles 94,500 lbs.* 
(*112,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(annual permit – up to 10 specific routes) (PF-2A) 

6 axles 108,000 lbs.* 
(*120,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(annual permit – up to 10 specific routes) (PF-2A) 

7 axles 122,000 lbs.* 
(*132,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(annual permit – up to 10 specific routes) (PF-2A) 

Annual Permit inquiries: 1-888-221-8166 

Single Trip Permit 

Fee $12 - $48 (state fee)

Valid 10 calendar days for one single trip

Width 16 feet maximum (mobile home
may be permitted up to 16 feet) 

Length No overall length limitations,
with the following exception: 
105 feet maximum for mobile 
homes/total combination 

Height Maximum determined by vertical
clearance along authorized route 
of travel 

Overweight One item route specific (exact
origin, detailed route and 
destination) 

Identified by Power unit license and
serial number 

Issued to Registered owner or leasee of power unit

• The following weights do not apply to
self-propelled vehicles or off-road equipment.

• Maximum permit weight allowed is
determined by the number of load supporting
axles; allowable bridge structure weights.

Axle weights:

Steer axle 20,000 lbs. 
Single axle 25,000 lbs. 
Tandem axles 50,000 lbs. 
Tridem axles 60,000 lbs. 
4 or more axle grouping 68,000 lbs. 
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Gross Weights 

5 axles 94,500 lbs.* 
(*112,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(single trip permit - one specific route) 

6 axles 108,000 lbs.* 
(*120,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(single trip permit - one specific route) 

7 axles 122,000 lbs.* 
(*132,000 pounds with minimum 51-foot wheelbase) 
(single trip permit - one specific route) 

Route of Travel - Must include exact origin,
detailed route and exact destination. County/state 
road numbers and routes are required. County 
alpha and numeric listings are available on the 
Permit Unit website at: 
www.ncdot.gov/~osowpermits. 

• May include a return trip to the original point of
origin, if requested at original time of issue. The
return trip must be completed within the
validation date of the permit.

***Publication GP-1*** 

• $100 non-refundable application fee

• State fee ($12 – $48) will be charged in
addition to $3 per 1,000 pounds over 132,000
pounds gross weight.

• Gross weight exceeds 132,000 pounds.

• Gross weight on steer axle exceeds 20,000
pounds.

• Width exceeds 16 feet

• Requires a written superload application
(PF-20) to include vehicle combination
schematics (axle spacing and distribution of
weight) and documentation for variances.

• Request must be made at least 10 working
days prior to the anticipated date of movement
to allow for internal and bridge engineering
reviews.
Superload inquiries: 1-888-221-8166

***Publication SL-6*** 

Superload Permit 

http://www.ncdot.gov/%7Eosowpermits
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• The permit is required to be issued in the
name of the registered owner of the insured
power unit. The permittee is responsible for
total compliance with permit rules and
regulations.

• Violations of weight, escort, dimension and
other restrictions or conditions stated on the
permit may result in your permit being
considered invalid by the Central Permit
Office and/or enforcement personnel. A
violation or repeated violations may result in
denial, suspension or revocation of North
Carolina permit privileges.

• Must comply with legal requirements for proper
license, insurance coverage and operating
authority for each vehicle to be permitted.

• The object(s)/item(s) transported are to be
loaded or reduced to the smallest dimensions
and/or weight prior to applications for an over- 
dimension and/or overweight permit.

• Proof the permit document for accuracy prior
to travel on North Carolina highways. If
the document is incorrect, permittee is to
immediately contact the NCDOT Central
Permit Office prior to movement on North
Carolina highways.

• Properly sign the permit to verify you have
read and fully understand the requirements.

• Responsible for damages and cost involved
to persons or property as a result of the
permitted movement.

• Total compliance with North Carolina law and
permit policies and restrictions specified on
permit document.

• Maintain a speed consistent with safety of the
traveling public and avoid creating
traffic congestion.

• Permittee shall temporarily move to the side
of the highway to allow trailing traffic to
pass.

Disclaimer 

The issuance of a permit by the NCDOT does 
not imply nor guarantee the clearance for the 
permitted load(s). All vertical clearances 
should be checked by the permittee before 
moving beneath the structure and/or utility lines. 

Responsibility of Permittee 
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Permits for 
Movement of: 
Non-Divisible General 
Commodities 

Permits may be issued not to exceed a maximum 
width of 16 feet. 

A non-divisible general commodity would include 
but is not limited to: 

• Construction equipment

• Machinery (farm and business)

• Sealed ship containers

• Self-propelled equipment

• Tank (empty)
• Transformer

General Requirements: 

• Escorts are required as specified in the
Equipment Safety Requirements section
of the handbook.

• Overheight permit applications (in excess
of 14 feet) are required to be faxed or
submitted via the internet to the Central
Permit Office for review and processing.

***Publication GP-1*** 

• House mover license applications and
supporting documentation are renewed and
issued by the Central Permit Office.
The annual fee is $100.

• House move permit applications are
accepted, reviewed and issued by NCDOT
division/district offices statewide.

• NCDOT offices statewide have the authority
to approve, deny or permit with various
restrictions after reviewing the route of travel
and dimension(s) of structure to be moved.

Houses 
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• A $20 non-refundable fee is required for
house move permit applications. Application
is required to be made at least two working
days prior to the anticipated date of movement.

Single Trip Permit is required for:

• 12-foot-wide units (width at bottom of unit) 
with overhang exceeding 3 inch gutter edge.

• 14-foot-wide units with roof overhang not to 
exceed a total of 12 inches that are not 
operating by authority of an annual permit.

• 16-foot-wide units that are not operating by 
authority of an annual permit. Issuance of 
permits for movement of 16-foot-wide unit(s) 
in specific geographical areas within the state 
will require a route survey to be completed.

• Units exceeding the legal height of
14 feet.

• For all other mobile home movement not 

covered by authority outlined on an annual 

permit.

Additional information required:

• Serial number of mobile home
(last five digits).

Annual (Blanket) Permits may be issued for:

• Movement of 12-foot-wide units that do not
exceed the legal height of 13 feet 6 inches.

• 16' wide units with maximum 3” gutter edge
moving from point of specified manufacturer
to a specific retail sales center (manufacturer
name and dealership name and dealer number
are required), may include up to a maximum of
30 specific routes of travel.

• 14-foot-wide units with roof overhang not to
exceed a total measurement of 12 inches moving
from the manufacturer, dealer sales lot (permit
coissued) to customer’s homesite, another
dealer or out of state.

***Publication MH-2*** 

Mobile/Manufactured Homes 
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Reports 
 

Title 19A NCAC 03D.0219 Business Records 
 

(b) All motor vehicles dealers, manufacturers, 
factory branches, distributor branches and 
wholesalers shall keep for a period of four 
years the following additional records for 
each vehicle and mobile/modular home 
manufactured, received, sold, traded or junked: 

(7) The North Carolina oversize single trip or 
annual permit number authorizing 
movement of the mobile/modular unit, 
serial number or vehicle identification 
number of the mobile/ modular unit, the 
date of move, transporter, and name and 
address of purchaser. 



 

Sealed Ship Container 

A sealed ship container is defined as containerized 
freight being transported to or from a designated 
seaport and has or will be transported by marine 
shipment for International trade with the original 
unbroken seal or a replacement seal affixed by an 
authorized government agency. 

A sealed ship container must meet all of the 
following requirements to qualify for a permit: 

• All dimensions of width, height and length do 
not exceed limits specified in North Carolina 
law; 

• Traveling to or from a designated seaport 
(either in state or out of state) and has been 
or will be transported intact by marine 
shipment; 

• Power unit is licensed for 80,000 pounds; 

• Is a vehicle/vehicle combination of at least 
five axles; and 

• Has proper documentation (shippers’ bill of 
lading and/or trucking bill of lading) of sealed 
commodity being transported available for 
enforcement inspection. 

Allowable weights are specified in the Annual 
Permit and Single Trip Permit sections of the 
handbook (See pages 6 and 7). 

***Publication C-11*** 
 
 
 
 
 

The original permit request – annual or single trip 
permit – for cranes or off-road equipment must 
include schematics of the unit including axle 
spacings, axle weights, gross weight, width, overall 
length and length of front and/or rear overhang. 

The maximum permitted gross weight varies 
depending on extreme wheelbase and axle 
grouping measurement. 

***Publication SP-3*** 
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Self-Propelled Equipment 
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Permit Rules 
and Regulations 

 

 

• PERMITS ARE NOT TRANSFERABLE. If a 
permitted vehicle is wrecked, sold, traded or 
junked, a new permit must be issued and the 
required fee(s) paid. 

• Oversize/overweight permits (annual and 
single trip) are issued with the requirements 
and restrictions customized on each permit 
document for the load being transported. 

• No movement is allowed Monday through 
Sunday between sunset and sunrise unless 
otherwise stated on the permit. 

• Commodity being hauled must be loaded so 
that the vehicle/vehicle combination presents 
the least dimension and exposure to the 
motoring public. 

• The towing unit must be properly licensed for 
maximum allowable weight determined by 
extreme axle measurement (G.S. 20-118) prior 
to application for an overweight permit. 

• Permittee must be apportionately registered 
prior to travel into or through North Carolina 
as required by law. For more information, 
contact the DMV International Registration 
Plan Unit at (919) 861-3720. 

 

 
Results of Permit Violations 
Violations of weight, escorts, dimensions, route of 
travel or any other restrictions or conditions stated 
on the permit may result in the permit being 
considered invalid by the Central Permit Office 
and/or enforcement personnel. A violation or 
repeated violations may result in denial, suspension 
or revocation of North Carolina permit privileges. 

General Information 



 

Penalties for Permit Violations 

G.S. 20-140 
(f) A person is guilty of the Class 2 misdemeanor of 
reckless driving if the person drives a commercial motor 
vehicle carrying a load that is subject to the permit 
requirements of G.S.-20 119 upon a highway or any 
public vehicular area either: 

(1) Carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton 
disregard of the rights or safety of others; or 

(2) Without due caution and circumspection and at a 
speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely 
to endanger any person or property. 

 
G.S. 20-119 
(d) For each violation of any of the terms or conditions of 
a special permit issued or where a permit is required but 
not obtained under this section the Department of Crime 
Control and Public Safety shall assess a civil penalty for 
each violation against the registered owner of the vehicle 
as follows: 

(1)  A fine of one thousand five hundred dollars 
($1,500) for operating without the proper number 
of certified escorts as determined by the actual 
loaded weight or size of the vehicle combination. 

(1a) A fine of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for any of 
the following: operating without the issuance of a 
permit, moving a load off the route specified in the 
permit, falsifying information to obtain a permit, or 
failing to comply with dimension restrictions of a 
permit. 

(2) A fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for 
moving loads beyond the distance allowances of an 
annual permit covering the movement of house 
trailers from the retailer's premises or for operating 
in violation of time of travel restrictions. 

(3) A fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for any 
other violation of the permit conditions or 
requirements imposed by applicable regulations. 

 
The Department of Transportation may refuse to issue 
additional permits or suspend existing permits if there 
are repeated violations of subdivision (1) (1), (1a), or (2) 
of this subsection. 

 
(d1) In addition to the penalties assessed under 
subsection (d) of this section, the Department of Crime 
Control and Public Safety shall assess a civil penalty, not 
to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000), in accordance 
with G.S. 20-118(e)(1) and (e)(3) against the registered 
owner of the vehicle for any of the following: 

(1) Operating without the issuance of a required 
permit. 

(2) Operating off permitted route of travel. 
(3) Failing to comply with travel restrictions of the 

permit. 
(4) Operating without the proper vehicle registration 

or license for the class of vehicle being operated. 

A violation of this subsection constitutes operating a 
vehicle without a special permit. 

15
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15 feet Max Width 

      14 feet 1 inch to 15 feet 
flags, “wideload” banners front and 
rear of vehicle 

One escort on multi-lane highways 
Two escorts on two-lane/two-way highways 

 

12 feet 1 inch to 14 feet 
flags, “wideload” banners 
front and rear of vehicle 

One escort 
 

10 feet 1 inch to 12 feet 
flags, “wideload” banners 
front and rear of vehicle 

 
 

8 feet 7 inches to 10 feet 
flags 

Legal 8 feet 6 inches Width 

Equipment/Safety 
Requirements 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Amber Flashing Lights 
Type 
Flashing amber light - visible for 500' and 360° 

Placement: 
Escort vehicles are required to display lights as 
specified above in good working condition on 
top of the vehicle. Escorts for 16-foot-wide 
mobile/modular homes should refer to Publication 
MH-2 for requirements. 

Mobile homes are required to display lights in 
good working condition 72 inches from the road 
surface on all four corners of the mobile home with 
the option of mounting the required front lights 
on the mirror bar no less than the extreme width 
of the power unit. 

Self-propelled vehicles are required to display lights 
of the size specified above – minimum 800-watt 
candle power on any front and/or rear overhang if 
vehicle is approved for continuous travel (24 
hours/seven days a week/365 days a year). 



 

Banners 
Size 
Vehicle combination: the banner length totaling 
7 feet wide by 18 inches high. Banner may be 
displayed in two sections to allow for visibility of 
registration plates/decals. 

Escort vehicle: the banner length to extend the 
entire width of the escort vehicle. 

Lettering 
Black letters 10 inches high with 1.5-inch brush 
strokes bearing the legend “Oversize Load” or 
“Wide Load.” 

The banner displayed on front and rear of a 
mobile/modular home combination and on top of a 
16-foot-wide mobile/modular home escort 
must bear the legend “WIDE FT. LOAD” or 
“OVERSIZE FT. LOAD” to properly identify the 
nominal width of the unit in transport. 

Color 
Yellow 

Placement: 
Vehicle combination: Banner is to be displayed on the 
front and rear bumpers of any vehicle combination 
permitted for more than 10 feet wide. (May be two 
separate banners totaling a length of 7 feet to provide 
for display of registration plates/decals). 

Escort vehicle: Banners are to be displayed on the 
escort vehicle as determined by the required escort 
placement (front and/or rear) or on top of the vehicle 
for 16-foot-wide mobile/modular home escorts. 

 

Brake Lights 
Red brake lights in good working order must be 
temporarily displayed on any rear overhang for 
self-propelled equipment approved for continuous 
travel (24 hours/ seven days a week/365 days a year). 

 

Escorts 
Requirements: All escort vehicle operators are 
required to obtain an approved escort certification prior 
to performing the duties of an oversize/overweight load 
escort vehicle operator in North Carolina. 

• Front escort for permitted loads more than 
12 feet wide on two-lane/two-way traffic 
highways and a rear escort on multi-lane 
highways or as determined and stated on the 
permit document by issuing agent. 

• Rear escort required for permitted loads 
exceeding 110 feet in length. 

• Escort vehicle requirements for 16-foot-wide 
mobile/modular homes are different from 
those for other escort vehicles. Refer to 
Publication MH-2. 

17
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• No driver or passenger other than a certified 
escort vehicle operator is allowed to travel in 
the escort vehicle. 

• Front and rear escort required for overall 
length 150 feet or greater. 

• Front escort required for weight greater than 
149,999 pounds. 

• Front and rear escort for permitted loads 
exceeding 14 feet in width on two-lane/ 
two-way roads. 

• Front pole car escort equipped with height 
pole indicator for permitted loads exceeding 
14 feet 5 inches in height. 

• Additional escorts may be required for any 
vehicle or vehicle combination with individual 
consideration of weight, width, length, height, 
weather, geographical location or route of 
travel as determined by issuing agent. 

Vehicle Size (weight) 
A truck of not less than a one-quarter-ton rated 
load capacity but not more than 17,000 pounds 
GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) or a passenger 
vehicle of not less than 2,000 pounds gross weight. 

Enforcement 
Non-compliance of the requirement for escort(s) or 
incorrect placement of escort(s) as stated on the 
permit will result in the assessment of a civil penalty. 

Identification 
Placards or identification signs measuring at least 8 
inches by 12 inches providing name and telephone 
number of the registered owner of the vehicle 
(company or individual) must be displayed on the 
right and left side of the vehicle. 

***Publication E-9*** 
 

Flags 
Color: Red or Orange 

Size: 18 inches square 

Placement: At widest point of overwidth or as 
specified on the permit. 

 

Headlamps 
Towing unit and escort vehicle(s) must burn 
headlamps during highway movement of permitted 
loads. 

 

Height Pole Indicator 
Required for front escort vehicle for overheight 
moves in excess of 14 feet 5 inches. 



 

Mirrors 
Rearview mirrors on towing units attached or 
extended for movement of overwidth loads must 
be removed or retracted to conform with legal 
widths when unit is not towing or hauling 
permitted load. 

 

Radio 
Two-way radio communication is required between 
power unit of vehicle combination and escort vehicle. 

 
 

Emergency Conditions 
 

• Permittee must be in compliance with North 
Carolina motor carrier regulations relating to 
vehicle emergencies. 

• The governor may issue an executive order for 
vehicle exceptions to North Carolina law and 
motor carrier regulations for relief of emergency 
conditions for declared natural disasters. If such 
an event occurs, contact the Central Permit 
Office for additional information. 
1-888-221-8166. 

 
 
 

Convoy 
Multiple permitted vehicles cannot travel in a 
convoy. Vehicles must travel at least two miles 
apart. 

Detour of Authorized Route 
Regardless of the route shown on the permit, an 
alternative route will be followed if: 

• directed by a peace officer 

• directed by an official traffic control 
device to follow a specific route to 
weighing device 

• escorted by an enforcement officer to a 
permanent weigh scale 

Holiday Travel 
Permitted vehicles with a gross weight exceeding 
112,000 pounds and/or overdimensions of width, 
length or height cannot travel on the following 
holidays from noon on the weekday before the 
holiday until noon on the weekday after the holiday: 
Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas 
Day. 

Properly permitted vehicles can travel on all other 
holidays observed by the NCDOT Oversize/Overweight 
Permit Office. 

***Publication H-7*** 
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Time of Travel 

General Commodities/Self Propelled 
Equipment 
Monday through Sunday – sunrise to sunset 

 
12-foot to 14-foot Mobile/Manufactured Home 
Monday through Sunday – sunrise to sunset 

 
16- foot Mobile/Manufactured Home 
Monday through Sunday – 9 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. 

Oversize loads with width greater than 12 feet, 
travel prohibited within a 10-mile radius of the city 
limits of Charlotte, Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill 
between 7 to 9 a.m. and 4 to 6 p.m. 

Continuous travel – 
(24 hours/seven days) is authorized if: 

 
• the permitted gross weight does not exceed 

112,000 pounds, and 
 

• no overdimension of width, length or 
height is part of the permitted movement. 

Inclement Weather 
No move shall be made when weather conditions 
render visibility less than 500 feet for a person or 
vehicle. Moves shall not be made when highway is 
covered with snow or ice or at any time travel 
conditions are considered unsafe by the Division of 
Highways, State Highway Patrol or other Law 
Enforcement Officers having jurisdiction. 
Movement of a mobile/modular unit exceeding a 
width of 10 feet is prohibited when wind velocities 
exceed 25 miles per hour in gusts. 

One-mile Access 
On permitted route segments that include an 
interstate, freeway, or toll way requiring entering 
and exiting via an interchange; a distance of one 
mile is authorized from the route of travel provided 
in the “Via Routes” section of this permit onto 
another contiguous state jurisdiction highway 
provided that no bridges are crossed, no posted 
weight limits are exceeded and all other provisions 
of the permit are followed. The one mile distance 
shall be from ramp terminal at the intersection of 
the ramp and other state highway. In the event 
that the mover travels beyond the one mile limit, 
crosses a bridge within the one mile variance, or 
violates any other provision of the permit, the 
mover is in violation and subject to applicable fines 
and penalties as specified in G.S. 20-118 and 20-119. 
Since compliance is the responsibility of the 
operator, NCDOT recommends that the mover 
familiarize themselves with the various exits they 
may choose, and review NCDOT guidance on this 
provision which is found on the NCDOT Oversize 
Overweight Permit Unit's website. 
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Administrative Code: Permit policy approved by the N.C. Board 
of Transportation. 

Annual (Blanket) Permit: A permit valid one year from date of 
validation for any qualifying vehicle over legal weight, width or 
length. 

Axle Group: Any two or more consecutive axles on a 
vehicle/vehicle combination. 

Building: Barns, houses, utility sheds. 

Central Permit Office: A unit of NCDOT’s Division of 
Highways located in Raleigh that is responsible for issuing 
overdimension/overweight permits. 

Commercial Motor Vehicle: A motor vehicle designed or used to 
transport passengers or property; that has a combined GVWR of 
at least 26,001 pounds and includes as a part of the combination 
a towed unit that has a GVWR of at least 10,001 pounds. 

Construction Equipment: Designed for off-highway use. 
Examples: scraper, backhoe, excavator, etc. 

Continuous Travel: Authorized to travel 24 hours a day/seven 
days a week/365 days a year. 

Controlled-Access Highway: Highways on which access 
connections are provided only with selected roads; at-grade 
crossing and private driveway connections are prohibited. 

Dealer: Any person engaged in the business of buying, selling, 
distributing or exchanging motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers in 
the state, having an established place of business in this state. 

Direct Facsimile: Transmittal of document(s) directly to specified 
location. 

District Office: Operates under the authority of a Division of 
Highways Division Office, geographically assigned. 

Division Office: One of 14 offices located throughout the state 
of North Carolina responsible for Division of Highways activities 
for that specific area. 

Divisible Load: A load that can be divided to meet legal 
requirements and does not qualify for issuance of a permit. 

Duration of permits: Specified time a permit is valid. 

Enforcement: Enforcement of over dimension/overweight permits 
is the responsibility of the N.C. State Highway Patrol. 

Extreme Wheelbase Measurement: Measurement from the 
center of the first axle to the center of the rear most axle. 

GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating): The value specified by the 
manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight a vehicle is 
capable of safely hauling. 

General Statutes: North Carolina law. 

Government Agency: includes United States government and 
state of North Carolina agencies, institutions, subdivisions and 
municipalities. 

Gross vehicle weight (GVW): The total gross weight of the 
loaded truck/trailer combination. 

Holiday: Refers to official holidays of Independence Day, 
Thanksgiving and Christmas. 

House move: Movement of a “building” exceeding 15 feet in 
width (Refer to G.S. 20-356). 

House Trailer: Any trailer or semi-trailer designed and equipped 
to provide living or sleeping facilities and drawn by a motor 
vehicle. 

Interstate Movement: Transportation from state to state. 

Intrastate Movement: Transportation within North Carolina 
only. 
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License Weight: Registered gross weight of vehicle/vehicle 
combination. 

Low-Limited Road: Any highway on the state highway system, 
posted by the Department of Transportation for limited axle 
weights. 

Manufacturer: Any person, resident or non-resident of this 
state, who manufactures trucks, truck chassis, trailers, 
mobile/modular homes and property licensed to do business 
as such. 

Mobile/Modular Home: Any trailer or semi-trailer designed and 
equipped to provide only living or sleeping facilities and drawn 
by a motor vehicle. 

Mobile Office: Any trailer or semi-trailer designed and equipped 
to provide temporary office space and drawn by a motor vehicle. 

Motor Vehicle: Every vehicle that is self-propelled and every 
vehicle designed to run upon the highways that is pulled by a 
self-propelled vehicle. 

Non-divisible Load: Commodity to be transported that cannot 
be broken down or divided to meet legal requirements 
specified in North Carolina law may qualify for an 
overdimension/overweight permit. 

Off-Highway Construction Equipment: Self-propelled or towing 
vehicle(s) exempt from registration (G.S. 20-51). Equipment 
constructed for non-highway use and which is operated on 
the highway only for the purpose of getting to or from a 
non-highway job and not for the transportation of persons or 
property or for hire. 

Overdimension: Vehicle and/or load that exceeds legal limits of 
height, width, length or weight. 

Overheight: Vehicle/vehicle combination, empty or transporting 
a non-divisible load over 13 feet 6 inches in height. 

Overweight: A vehicle or vehicle gross combination, axle and/or 
load that exceeds legal limit weights and gross weights specified 
in North Carolina law. 

Owner: A person holding the legal title to a vehicle, or in the 
event a vehicle is the subject of a chattel mortgage or an 
agreement for the conditional sale or lease thereof or other like 
agreement, with the right of purchase upon performance of the 
conditions stated in the agreement, and with the immediate 
right of possession vested in the mortgagor, conditional vendee 
or lessee shall be deemed the owner for the purpose of this 
manual. 

Permit: Legal document authorizing travel on the highways of 
North Carolina in excess of statutory limits. 

Permittee: Registered owner/lessee of towing unit. 

Policy: Rules and regulations set by the Secretary of Transportation 
or his designee for issuance of overdimension/overweight permits. 

Posted Bridge: A bridge on the state highway system signed by 
the Department of Transportation for limited gross weights. 

Posted Road: Any highway on the state highway system, signed 
by the Department of Transportation for limited axle weights 
(same as Low-Limited Road). 

Reasonable Access: Three-mile access off the National Truck 
Network Interstate/Surface Transportation Assistance Act (STAA) 
vehicle routes to include specific federal-aid primary highways 
(designated by the U.S. secretary of transportation) for food, 
fuel, repair, rest or terminals for STAA vehicles. 
***Publication M-13*** 

Registration: To record or register a motor vehicle as required 
by statute. 

Restriction: A limitation, a limiting condition or rule. 
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Revocation: Termination of a permittee’s privilege to operate an 
overdimension and/or overweight vehicle/vehicle combination for a 
period of time stated in an order of revocation or suspension. The 
terms “revocation” or “suspension” or a combination of both 
terms shall be used synonymously. 

Road Tractor: Vehicles designed and used for drawing other 
vehicles upon the highway and not constructed to carry any part 
of the load, either independently or as a part of the weight of 
the vehicle so drawn. 

Sealed Ship Container: A sealed ship container is defined as 
containerized freight being transported to or from a designated 
seaport and has or will be transported by marine shipment for 
International trade with the original unbroken seal or a 
replacement seal affixed by an authorized government agency. 

Self-Propelled Vehicle: A vehicle operating under its own power, 
not towed. 

Single Axle Weight: The gross weight transmitted by all wheels 
whose centers may be included between two parallel transverse 
vertical planes 40 inches apart, extending across the full width of 
the vehicle. 

Single-Trip Permit: A permit issued over the statutory limit 
allowing one movement from origin to destination and return 
(if requested at time of issuance) if such movement can be made 
within a 10-day validation period. 

Special Mobile Equipment: Self-propelled, non-property hauling 
vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer, which has permanently attached 
equipment. Operated on the highway only for the purpose of 
getting to and from a non-highway job properly classified and 
licensed as special mobile equipment by the N.C. Division of 
Motor Vehicles. 

Superload: Qualified vehicle/vehicle combination and/or load 
exceeding routine permit policy. A superload request may 
require an engineering review. 

Suspension: Temporary revocation of a permittee’s privilege to 
operate an overdimension and/or overweight vehicle/vehicle 
combination for a period of time stated in an order of revocation 
or suspension. The terms “revocation” or “suspension” or a 
combination of both terms shall be used synonymously. 

Tandem Axle Weight: The gross weight transmitted to the road 
by two or more consecutive axles whose centers may be included 
between parallel vertical planes spaced more than 40 inches and 
not more than 96 inches apart, extending across the full width 
of the vehicle. 

Truck Tractor: Vehicles designed and used for drawing other 
vehicles upon the highway and not constructed to carry any part 
of the load. 

Validation of Permit: The length of time the permittee is 
allowed to complete the permitted movement. 

Wrecker: Vehicles with permanently attached cranes used to 
move other vehicles, provided that said wreckers shall be 
equipped with adequate brakes for units being towed. 
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Publications are available upon request or can be 
downloaded from our Web page. The documents 
provide detailed information pertaining to topics 
that may be of individual interest for movement of 
oversize/overweight commodities and/or vehicles on 
North Carolina highways. 
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