The Mobi Award recognizes projects that showcase the important and transformational role that investments in aviation, bicycle/pedestrian, ferry, rail and public transportation play in creating vibrant communities in all parts of the state.

Multimodal projects are an important piece of North Carolina’s future - connecting people to places, providing alternative modes of travel and making our state more accessible, attractive and competitive.  The Mobi represents a multimodal focus that is at the heart of NCDOT’s mission to leverage all the State's transportation infrastructure to ensure a strong economy for future generations.

Top multimodal projects will be selected in five categories – Urban, Suburban, Rural, Tourism and Innovation – and honored at an awards luncheon hosted by the N.C. Department of Transportation and co-hosted by Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS) and NC Go! 

The Mobi Awards luncheon will be held in Raleigh on Feb. 6, 2019.  Winners will be featured on NCDOT's website and in various other publications.

Deadline to apply: Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018.



Nominations may be made by any North Carolina town, city, county, metropolitan planning organization (MPO), rural planning organization (RPO), public transportation system/authority, airport authority, or Council of Government.

Project must have been constructed and put into operation (or service must have started) within the past five years (prior to the application deadline of Oct. 24, 2018).

Project must combine two or more of the following modes of transportation:

  • Aviation
  • Bicycle/Pedestrian
  • Ferry
  • Public Transportation
  • Rail
  • Roadway

Award Categories

A winner plus honorable mentions will be selected in each of these five categories:

  • Rural *
  • Urban *
  • Suburban *
  • Tourism *
  • Innovation

* The county in which the project is located determines which of these four categories the project may compete in (this excludes innovation, which is a category open to all projects.  To determine which of these categories to select (i.e., rural, urban, suburban, or tourism), refer to this link. If the project is in more than one county, choose the county the project is primarily in.

You may choose only one category per application, however more than one application may be submitted for a project under multiple categories (for example: one project may be submitted with two applications – one under rural and one under tourism).

Judging Criteria

A panel of experts from across North Carolina will evaluate and select winning projects based on how well the multimodal project:

  • Leverages or spurs other public and private investment beyond the NCDOT investment
  • Boosts economic growth (business, tourism, etc.)
  • Creates long-term jobs
  • Improves public health
  • Enhances the community
  • Contributes to the community or state in other significant ways

Application deadline: Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018

Finalist notification: Early December 2018. The contact person listed for the finalist projects in each category will be notified they are a finalist. Two local representatives for each finalist project will be invited to attend an awards luncheon, where the winner will be announced by NCDOT Secretary Jim Trogdon.  Must be present at luncheon to win.

Winners announced: Feb. 6, 2019 awards luncheon (details forthcoming)

For questions or more information, contact
Was this page helpful?