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20-157 Approach of Police, Fire, EMS Vehicles & Driving over fire hose or
blocking firefighting & EMS equipment or Police vehicles. *Move Over*

(@) Upon the approach of any law enforcement or fire department vehicle or public or private ambulance or rescue
squad emergency service vehicle, or a vehicle operated by the Division of Marine Fisheries, or the Division of Parks and
Recreation of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, or the North Carolina Forest Service of the
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services when traveling in response to a fire alarm or other emergency response
purpose, giving warning signal by appropriate light and by audible bell, siren or exhaust whistle, audible under normal
conditions from a distance not less than 1000 feet, the driver of every other vehicle shall immediately drive the same to a
position as near as possible and parallel to the right-hand edge or curb, clear of any intersection of streets or highways,
and shall stop and remain in such position unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement or traffic officer until the law
enforcement or fire department vehicle, or the vehicle operated by the Division of Marine Fisheries, or the Division of
Parks and Recreation of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, or the North Carolina Forest Service of
the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, or the public or private ambulance or rescue squad emergency
service vehicle shall have passed. Provided, however, this subsection shall not apply to vehicles traveling in the opposite
direction of the vehicles herein enumerated when traveling on a four-lane limited access highway with a median divider
dividing the highway for vehicles traveling in opposite directions, and provided further that the violation of this
subsection shall be negligence per se. Violation of this subsection is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

(b) It shall be unlawful for the driver of any vehicle other than one on official business to follow any fire apparatus
traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than one block or to drive into or park such vehicle within one block where fire
apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm.

(c) Outside of the corporate limits of any city or town it shall be unlawful for the driver of any vehicle other than one
on official business to follow any fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than 400 feet or to drive into or
park such vehicle within a space of 400 feet from where fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm.

(d) It shall be unlawful to drive a motor vehicle over a fire hose or any other equipment that is being used at a fire at
any time, or to block a fire-fighting apparatus or any other equipment from its source of supply regardless of its distance
from the fire.

(e) It shall be unlawful for the driver of a vehicle, other than one on official business, to park and leave standing such
vehicle within 100 feet of law enforcement or fire department vehicles, public or private ambulances, or rescue squad
emergency vehicles which are engaged in the investigation of an accident or engaged in rendering assistance to victims of
such accident.



20-157 Continued (Move Over Law)

() When an authorized emergency vehicle as described in subsection (a) of this section or any
public service vehicle is parked or standing within 12 feet of a roadway and is giving a warning

signal by appropriate light, the driver of every other approaching vehicle shall, as soon as it
is safe and when not otherwise directed by an individual lawfully directing traffic, do one of the
following:

(1) Move the vehicle into a lane that is not the lane nearest the parked or standing

authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle and continue traveling in that lane
until safely clear of the authorized emergency vehicle. This paragraph applies only if the roadway
has at least two lanes for traffic proceeding in the direction of the approaching vehicle and if
the approaching vehicle may change lanes safely and without interfering with any vehicular
traffic.

(2) Slow the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for traffic conditions, and operate

the vehicle at a reduced speed and be prepared to stop until completely past the
authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle. This paragraph applies only if the roadway
has only one lane for traffic proceeding in the direction of the approaching vehicle or if the
approaching vehicle may not change lanes safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic.

For purposes of this section, "public service vehicle” means a vehicle that is being used to assist
motorists or law enforcement officers with wrecked or disabled vehicles, or is a vehicle being used to
install, maintain, or restore utility service, including electric, cable, telephone, communications, and
gas, or is a highway maintenance vehicle owned and operated by or contracted by the State or a
local government, and is operating an amber-colored flashing light authorized by G.S. 20-
130.2. (adds DOT Vehicles) Violation of this subsection shall be negligence per se.

(9) Except as provided in subsections (a), (h), and (i) of this section, violation of this section
shall be an infraction punishable by a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).




20-157 Continued (Move Over Law)

(h) A person who violates this section and causes damage to property in the
immediate area of the authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle in excess
of five hundred dollars ($500.00), or causes injury to a law enforcement officer, a firefighter,
an emergency vehicle operator, an Incident Management Assistance Patrol member, a public service

vehicle operator, or any other emergency response person in the immediate area of the authorized
emergency vehicle or public service vehicle is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

(i) A person who violates this section and causes serious injury or death to a law
enforcement officer, a firefighter, an emergency vehicle operator, an Incident Management Assistance
Patrol member, a public service vehicle operator, or any other emergency response person in the
Immediate area of the authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle

Is guilty of a Class | felony.

The Division may suspend, for up to six months, the drivers license of any person convicted under
this subsection. If the Division suspends a person's license under this subsection, a judge may allow the
licensee a limited driving privilege for a period not to exceed the period of suspension, provided the
person's license has not also been revoked or suspended under any other provision of law. The limited
driving privilege shall be issued in the same manner and under the terms and conditions prescribed in
G.S. 20-16.1(b). (1937, c. 407, s. 119; 1955, cc. 173, 744; 1971, c. 366, ss. 1, 2; 1985, c. 764, s. 31;
1985 (Reg. Sess., 1986), c. 852, s. 17; 1993, c. 539, s. 372; 1994, EX. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2001-331, s.
1; 2005-189, s. 1; 2006-259, s. 9; 2007-360, s. 1; 2010-132, s. 12; 2012-14, s. 1; 2013-415, s. 1(e).)




Move Over Violations — 2014 Statewide

Section f (Move Over no Injury or damage) = 2928
Section H (Minor injury or in excess of $500.00 damage) = 11

Section | (Serious injury or death) = 2

Move Over — Educational Programs

2014 Traffic Safety Programs = 751
2015 Traffic Safety Programs = 242

Public awareness and education are key




Work Zone Information — 2014 Highway Patrol
20-141. Speed restrictions. (j2) (Work Zone)

(j2)  Aperson who drives a motor vehicle in a highway work zone at a speed greater than the
speed limit set and posted under this section shall be required to pay a penalty of two hundred
fifty dollars ($250.00). This penalty shall be imposed in addition to those penalties established in
this Chapter. A ""highway work zone"' is the area between the first sign that informs motorists
of the existence of a work zone on a highway and the last sign that informs motorists of the
end of the work zone. The additional penalty imposed by this subsection applies only if signs are
posted at the beginning and end of any segment of the highway work zone stating the penalty for
speeding in that segment of the work zone. The Secretary shall ensure that work zones shall only
be posted with penalty signs if the Secretary determines, after engineering review, that the posting
IS necessary to ensure the safety of the traveling public due to a hazardous condition.

A law enforcement officer issuing a citation for a violation of this section while in a highway
work zone shall indicate the vehicle speed and speed limit posted in the segment of the work zone,
and determine whether the individual committed a violation of G.S. 20-141(j1). Upon an
individual's conviction of a violation of this section while in a highway work zone, the clerk of
court shall report that the vehicle was in a work zone at the time of the violation, the vehicle
speed, and the speed limit of the work zone to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

« Citation $250 Fine plus Court Costs $190 = $440.00
e Mandatory court appearance if 15 over the speed limit.



Work Zone Information — 2014 Highway Patrol

Passenger Vehicles

Speed

Alcohol

Other

Warning

Crashes

15694

110

16932

5129

447

Commercial Motor Vehicles

Speed

Alcohol

Other

Warning

Crashes

135

2

233

119

34
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Emergency Responder Parking Order and Cone Placement Reference Card 1127108
PARKING ORDER BLOCK RIGHT BLOCK LEFT BLOCK SHOULDER RESPONDER GOALS
STAGED VEHICLES ® DO NOT PARK ON THE OPPOSITE
E SIDE OF THE ROAD OR IN THE
z OPPOSITE DIRECTION OF TRAVEL
w
g o  CREATE AN OPEN LANE(S)
3 SHADOW AREA POLICY TO GET RESOURCES TO
THE INCIDENT FASTER. MINIMIZE
EMS CLOSED LANES
AT AR *  FIRSTARRIVING FIRE OR

RESCUE SHOULD ANGLE VEHICLE
(BLOCK) IN THE DIRECTION OF
THE MERGE WHEN PERSONNEL

ARE NOT AT RISK

¢ PROVIDE A 50' TO 100' BUFFER
SPACE BETWEEN YOU AND THE
INCIDENT SCENE

» REMOVE LANE CLOSURES,
RELOCATE TO SHOULDER OR
DEMOBILIZE AS SOON AS
POSSIBLE UNLESS REQUESTED
FOR TRAFFIC CONTROL

* FIRE OR RESCUE DEPLOY A 200'
TAPER WITH TRAFFIC CONES TO
REDIRECT TRAFFIC. SPACE
CONES AT EACH SKIP LINE

» CONTACT DOT FOR HAZMAT,
OVERTURNED TRACTOR
TRAILERS, FATALITY
INVESTIGATIONS, MULTIPLE
VEHICLE ACCIDENTS OR OTHER
LONG TERM INCIDENTS




Emergency Responder Highway & Interstate Safety Reference Card

FENDER BENDER LAW |

| Quick cLEARANCE LAW |

| moveoverLaw |

LAWS TO HELP EMERGENCY RESPONDERS

General Statute § 20-166 states:
If an accident or collision occurs on a main lane,
ramp, shoulder, median or adjacent area of a
highway, each vehicle shall be moved as soon as
possible out of the travel lane and onte the
shoulder to minimize interfarence with traffic if all
of the following apply:

The accident or collision has not resulted in
injury or death to any person.

and

Each vehicle can be normally and safely driven
under its own power without additional damage
to the vehicle, other traffic or the roadway.

General Statute § 20-161 states:
a) No person shall park or leave standing any
vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the
paved or main-traveled portion of any highway
outside municipal corporate limits unless
disabled and impossible to avoid stopping and
temporarily leaving the vehicle upon the paved
or main-traveled portion of the highway
b) Mo person shall park or leave standing any
vehicle upon the shoulder outside municipal
corporate limits unless it can be seen for 200
feet in both directions and does not obstruct the
normal mavement of traffic.
f} Any investigating law enforcement officer, with
the concurence of DOT, may immediately
remove or have removed from the State
Highway System any wrecked, abandoned,
disabled, unattended, burned... vehicle, cargo or
personal property interfering with the regular flow
of traffic or which otherwise constitues a
hazard, without liability for property removal.

General Statute § 20-157 states:
e) Itis unlawful for a driver, except on official
business, to park and leave a vehicle within 100
feet of law enforcement or fire department
vehicles, public or private ambulances, or rescue
squad emergency vehicles which are engaged in
the investigation of an accident or engaged in

rendering assistance to victims of such accident.

f) When approaching a stopped emergency
vehicle with lights flashing, drivers should

Move cver to an adjacent lane if available or

when safe to do so,
or

Slew down, maintaining a safe speed for traffic
conditions and be prepared to stop.




Assistance with Traffic Safety Presentations
related to the Move Over Law contact,

Sergeant Mike Baker
Office 919-825-2770
Email Michael.d.baker@ncdps.gov



Questions?




