# Resolution for the Adoption of a Vision Zero Initiative for the State of North Carolina

**WHEREAS**, roadway fatalities and injuries continue to be at unacceptable levels of human and economic loss in North Carolina, with 1,271 fatalities and 110,426 injuries in 2014;

**WHEREAS**, the ten year average of 1,432 fatalities and 115,609 injuries from 2004 to 2013 on North Carolina roadways further illustrates that we still have work to do because the loss of just one life is too many;

**AFFIRMING**, that a collaborative effort is needed to address the challenges involved with transforming traffic safety culture;

WHEREAS, the Vision Zero strategy is a tool to unite safety stakeholders such as the Department of Transportation, State Highway Patrol, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Public Instruction, Governor's Highway Safety Program, Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Insurance, Indian Economic Development Initiative, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, Students Against Destructive Decisions, American Association of Real Possibilities, City of Greensboro, Metropolitan Planning Organizations, Conference of District Attorneys, UNC Highway Safety Research Center and all other safety member agencies of the Executive Committee for Highway Safety;

**WHEREAS**, the Vision Zero strategy establishes a long-term vision of zero fatalities on North Carolina roadways through sustained efforts in engineering, enforcement, education, emergency response, and public policy;

**RECOGNIZING,** the need to provide an organized interface which facilitates access to information regarding all of the safety initiatives operating and developing in North Carolina;

**WHEREAS**, the members of the Executive Committee for Highway Safety agree upon the goal of reducing roadway fatalities and serious injuries in North Carolina; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED** that the Executive Committee for Highway Safety does hereby authorize the adoption and support of the Vision Zero initiative and will share this message with all safety stakeholders.

# **Executive Committee for Highway Safety Members**

# Anthony J. Tata

# Committee Chair

Secretary of Transportation North Carolina Department of Transportation

# Kelly J. Thomas

Commissioner

North Carolina Division of Motor

Vehicles

# W. A. "Tony" Hayes

Chief Executive Officer
North Carolina Indian Economic
Development Initiative

# Terry Hopkins, PE

State Traffic Safety Engineer
North Carolina Department of
Transportation

# Jim Westmoreland, PE

City Manager
City of Greensboro

#### **Drexdal Pratt**

Director – Division of Health Service Regulation North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

# William J. Grey

Colonel

North Carolina State Highway Patrol

# Wayne Goodwin

Commissioner

North Carolina Department of
Insurance

# LaRonda S. Scott

State Executive Director
Mothers Against Drunk Driving

# Michael L. Holder, PE

Chief Engineer

North Carolina Department of

Transportation

#### **Paul Black**

Director
The French Broad River Metropolitan
Planning Organization

#### **Harriet Southerland**

State Coordinator
Students Against Destructive Decisions

# Donald K. Nail

Director
North Carolina Governor's Highway

Safety Program

# Nicholas J. Tennyson

Chief Deputy Secretary
North Carolina Department of
Transportation

# David L. Harkey, PE

Director
UNC Highway Safety Research Center

# J. Kevin Lacy, PE, CPM

State Traffic Engineer
North Carolina Department of
Transportation

# Isaac T. Avery, III

Attorney at Law
North Carolina Conference of District
Attorneys