
NORTH CAROLINA’S
CHILD RESTRAINT LAW

• Children under age 16 must ride in a 
safety belt or a child safety seat no 
matter where they sit.

• Children younger than age 8 and who 
weigh less than 80 pounds must be 
properly secured in child restraints 
or booster seats.

• When a child reaches age 8 or 
weighs 80 pounds, whichever 
comes first, a properly fitted lap 
and shoulder belt may be used to 
restrain the child.

WARNING: Belt-positioning booster 
seats can be used only with lap and 
shoulder combination safety belts.
Belt-positioning booster seats must 
never be used with just a lap belt.

• If there is no lap- and shoulder-belt- 
equipped seating position available 
for using a belt-positioning booster, 
a child who weighs at least 40 pounds 
may be restrained by a properly fitted 
lap belt only.

• The law applies to all passenger 
vehicles with both in-state and out-of-
state registration.

• The driver is held responsible for proper 
restraint of children, regardless of their 
relationship to the child.

• The penalty for not complying with this 
law is two points on driver license, a $25 
fine plus $110 in court costs.

NORTH CAROLINA'S 
SAFETY BELT LAW

In 1985, North Carolina’s safety belt law 
went into effect to save lives and reduce
injuries. Key points of the law include:

• All drivers and passengers must wear a safety 
belt or be in a child safety seat properly.*

• The driver is held responsible for themselves 
and all passengers under age 16. All 
passengers age 16 or older receive their 
own tickets if not buckled.

• Violators can be stopped by law enforcement 
if not buckled up.

• Fine is $25 plus $75 in court costs.
*Revised December 2006

NORTH CAROLINA
SAFETY BELT

AND
CHILD RESTRAINT GUIDE

North Carolina 
Department of Transportation

For copies of this brochure and other highway 
safety publications available in English and
Spanish, contact:

Governor’s Highway Safety Program
215 East Lane Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

www.ncdot.org/secretary/GHSP

919-733-3083

1-800-999-9676 (toll-free) 

For more information about child safety seats 
and safety belts or a referral to a local certified
child passenger safety technician, contact:

N.C. Child Passenger Safety 
Resource Center
1-800-672-4527

www.buckleupnc.org

N.C. Department of Insurance
N.C. Safe Kids
1-800-634-7854 

IT’S THE

LAW



Use Safety Seats Correctly and Safely
• Use according to the safety seat and 

vehicle manufacturer’s instructions.

• Child must be within the weight and height 
listed for the seat.

• Children less than 1 year old or 
weighing less than 20 pounds should ride 
facing the rear of the vehicle — either in a 
rear-facing-only infant seat or rear-facing 
convertible model.

• Seats must have the harness properly 
fitted over the shoulders with the straps 
snug, not loose.

• Seats must be installed properly and 
snugly in the vehicle with a seat belt or 
LATCH (Lower Anchors and Tethers for 
CHildren) system.

• Refer to the vehicle’s owner’s manual to 
see if a locking clip is needed to install a 
child seat. If needed, locking clips are 
available from automobile and safety 
seat manufacturers.

HOW TO WEAR A SAFETY BELT

North Carolina law requires that safety belts
and child restraint devices must be used
properly. Follow the child restraint and 
vehicle manufacturer’s instructions. Safety
experts recommend the following guidelines
for proper restraint usage.

ADULTS
• Wear lap belt low (touching the upper 

thighs) and snug

• Wear shoulder belt snug across collar 
bone and chest — not behind the back 
or under the arm

• Keep vehicle seat back in upright position

• Position adjustable head restraint high 
enough to protect the head

CHILDREN

• Use child restraint/booster seats until the 
safety belt fits — usually until a child weighs 
about 80 pounds or more, or is at least 
4 feet 9 inches tall.

• Use shoulder and lap belts whenever 
present

• If a lap-shoulder belt is not available, 
a lap-only belt should be worn as low 
and snug as possible

• Do not allow a child to place the 
shoulder belt behind his/her back

PREGNANT WOMEN
• Wear lap belt below abdomen

• Wear shoulder belt across chest

• If the seat belt is too short, consult an 
auto dealer for a seat belt extender

CAUTION! Safety belts should never be:
• Under arm • Loose

• Across throat • Over face

REAR-FACING ONLY INFANT SEATS
• For children 20 – 22 pounds

• Always face the rear of the vehicle

• Must not be placed in a seat with 
a front passenger-side airbag

CONVERTIBLE SAFETY SEATS
• Most models are for children weighing up to about

40 pounds.

• Most models are installed reclined and rear facing 
for children younger and smaller. Note: Older models
may require the safety seat to be turned when the
child reaches 20 pounds; however, some newer 
models allow children to remain rear facing until 
35 pounds.

• Rear-facing child safety seats must not be placed in 
a front seat with a passenger-side air bag.

• Installed upright and facing the front for children 
more than 1 year old and heavier than 20 pounds.

• Some may convert to a booster seat for children 
over 40 pounds; check manufacturer’s instructions.

COMBINATION SEATS
• Front facing only

• Used with a harness for children up to 40 pounds or 
more (depending on the model), then used with the 
harness removed as a belt-positioning booster until 
the child is big enough for the safety belt to fit.

BOOSTER SEATS
• For children who have outgrown a convertible 

seat or harness of a combination seat but are too 
small for safety belts to fit properly: Most children 
do not fit in seat belts until they are 4 feet 9 inches 
or taller.
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