
Underage Drinking & Driving
The Zero Tolerance Law makes it illegal for anyone 
under age 21 to drive after consuming alcohol or 
drugs. If you are under age 21, it is illegal to:

•	Drive while consuming alcohol.

•	Drive while any amount of alcohol you previously 
drank is still in your system.

•	Drive while drugs you previously consumed remain in 
your system, unless the drugs were lawfully obtained 
(prescribed to you) and taken as prescribed.

If charged with alcohol consumption of more than 
0.0, an immediate revocation of license for 30 days 
and a $100 reinstatement fee.

	What if you are underage 	 	
	and convicted of drinking 	 	
	alcohol?

•	Drinking by a person under age 19 is a Class 1 
Misdemeanor, and punishment can include a fine at 
the discretion of the judge, community service hours 
and a $250 fee or jail, plus court costs of $190.

•	Drinking by a person age 19 or 20 is a Class 3 
Misdemeanor which punishment can include a fine 
of up to $200 and community service hours and a 
$250 fee, jail, plus court costs of $190.

•	Attorney’s fees: $300 to $800.

What happens if you are under 
age 21 and convicted of driving 
after consuming alcohol or 
drugs?

•	One-year driver license revocation.

•	Limited driving privilege available only if 18, 19 
or 20 years old at the time of charge and no prior 
conviction for this charge. There is $100 fee to obtain 
a limited driving privilege, which limits time and 
location of driving.

•	Punishment as a Class 2 Misdemeanor.

•	Community service hours and $250 fee or jail time.

•	Court cost: $190.

•	Fine: up to $1,000.

•	Attorney’s fees: $500 to $1,000.

•	Insurance premiums can increase by 400 percent.

All fees are subject to change based on legislation. 
Visit http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/ for up to date law 
and statute information. 

For additional copies of this brochure, contact:

North Carolina 
Governor’s Highway Safety Program 

215 East Lane Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601

Phone:  (919) 733-3083 
	 Fax:  (919) 733-0604

http://www.ncdot.gov/programs/GHSP

North Carolina Department of Transportation
Governor’s Highway Safety Program

In North Carolina, the law now requires 
ALL persons 

in a vehicle wear seat belts. There are n
o longer age 

exceptions for passengers in the back sea
t.

Did you know?
•	In 2011, there were more than 42,000 crashes 

that involved teen drivers, resulting in more than 

12,000 injuries and 111 fatalities.

•	The majority of teen crashes occur between the 

hours of 5 p.m. and 7 p.m.

•	The three most common contributing factors of 

teen crashes include, failure to yield, failure to 

reduce speed and driving too fast 

for conditions.

•	In 68 percent of teen crashes, the teen driver 

was named at fault for the crash.

•	Traffic crashes and citations can impact your 

insurance premium for 3 years.
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Teens and Cell Phone Use
It is against the law in North Carolina for drivers under 
the age of 18 to use a mobile phone or any technology 
associated with a mobile telephone while a vehicle is  
in motion.

Exceptions include:
Talking to an emergency response operator; a hospital, 
physician’s office, or health clinic; a public or privately 
owned ambulance company or service; a fire department; 
a law enforcement agency or the operator’s parent, legal 
guardian or spouse.

Penalty:
A $25 fine. In addition to mobile phones, the law also 
stipulates the use of “other technology” that provides 
access to digital media such as a digital camera, email, 
music, the Internet or games.

No driver license points, insurance surcharge or 
court costs are assessed as a result of a violation 
of this law.

Speeding
•	For every 10 miles per hour you drive over 50 mph, you 

double your chances of death or serious injury. 

•	If age 16 to 18 and charged with driving 16 mph over 
the posted limit or in excess of 80 mph, you will be 
arrested, taken to the magistrate’s office and the 
magistrate will revoke your driver license immediately 
for 30 days — no limited privilege.

•	Driving privileges will be revoked for at least 30 days 
if convicted of:

•	Driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the 
speed limit, if you are driving at a speed higher than 
55 mph.

•	It will be taken for 60 days if you are convicted of:

•	A second charge of speeding over 55 mph and more 
than 15 mph above the speed limit within one year; or 
speeding plus reckless driving on the same occasion.

Crash Safety
If you are involved in a crash, as a driver or a 
passenger, it is important to remember these 
important steps in order to stay safe after the crash:

•	Before exiting your vehicle, watch for oncoming 
traffic.

•	Check for injuries. If no one is injured, move your 
vehicle out of the roadway to a safer place, as far 
off the road as possible, where you can exchange 
information with the drivers of other vehicles 
involved in the crash.

•	If you cannot move your vehicle, protect the scene 
with flares or by raising your hood and move any 
persons to the side of the roadway.  If after dark, 
leave car lights on.

•	Exchange contact information, vehicle 
identification and license plate numbers, driver’s 
license information.

•	Never leave the scene of a crash without 
exchanging information or calling the police, when 
appropriate. If you hit a vehicle that is parked, find 
the driver, or write your information in a note that 
you leave with the vehicle.

Teens and Texting
North Carolina prohibits ALL drivers from texting or reading 
a text message while a vehicle is in motion.

Exceptions include:
Those performing in official duties such as a law 
enforcement officer, a member of a fire department or the 
operator of a public or private ambulance.

Penalty:
A $100 fine plus court fees of at least $188. The violation 
will not add points to your driving record and an insurance 
surcharge will not be assessed.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among American 
teenagers, killing between 5,000 and 6,000 teenagers every year.

Drive safe, sober and buckled.Drive safe, sober and buckled.


