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	North Carolina Department of Transportation
	

	
	Application for Outdoor Advertising Permit
	

	

	Application is hereby made for a permit to MAINTAIN an outdoor advertising sign as located and described

	below, in accordance with provisions of the OUTDOOR ADVERTISING CONTROL ACT OF 1967, Article 11, Chapter 136

	of the General Statutes of North Carolina.

	

	[bookmark: Text18]     
	
	Department of Transportation Use Only

	Permit Holder/Sign Owner
	
	
	

	[bookmark: Text1]     
	
	Customer No.:
	     

	Billing Address
	
	
	Application No.:
	     

	     
	
	Mile Post R/L:
	     

	City/Town/State/Zip
	
	Permit No.:
	     

	     
	
	Contract No.:
	     

	Phone Number
	
	GPS Lat/Long:              

	*Location of Sign (Direction) on
	     
	side of Route No.
	[bookmark: Text4]     
	in
	[bookmark: Text7]     
	County

	situated  
	[bookmark: Text16]     
	(nearest 1/100th) mile(s) (Direction)
	     
	of
	     
	Secondary Route

	on property owned by: 
	     
	Date Sign Erected:
	     

	

	Sign Description:

	Type of Sign Face
 
	|_| Static  OR
	|_| Changeable Message (if CME, check type:)
	|_| LED
	|_| Digital
	|_| Trivision

	Length (Max. 60.0 ft.): 
	     
	Feet
	Height (Max 30.0 ft.):
	     
	Feet
	
	Area (Max 1200 Sq. Ft.):
	     
	Feet

	
	
	
	
	

	Type of  Display:
	(Check one)
	|_| Back-to-Back 
	[bookmark: Check12]|_| Single Face 
	[bookmark: Check15]|_| Combination of 1 & 2 

	
	[bookmark: Check13]|_| Side-by-Side 
	[bookmark: Check14]|_| V-Type 
	[bookmark: Check16]|_| Combination of 2 & 4 

	

	Number Display(s):
	[bookmark: Text8]     
	
	Total Sign Height: 
	[bookmark: Text19]     
	
	Is Sign Lighted?
	(Check one)
	[bookmark: Check9]|_| Yes 
	[bookmark: Check10]|_| No 

	

	(1) A written lease or written proof of interest in the land where a sign is proposed to be constructed.
(2) A right of entry form to provide the right of entry from the property owner and/or adjacent property owners to allow DOT personnel to enter upon the property when necessary for the enforcement of the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or these rules.		
(3) If zoned and signed, a written statement from the local zoning authority indicating the present zoning of the parcel and its effective date.  Upon request of the district engineer or designee, the applicant shall submit copies of minutes from the appropriate zoning authority pertinent to the zoning action.	
(4) If the area is an unzoned commercial or industrial area, a copy of the documentation conforming that the requirements under NCAC 02E.0203(5)(a) have been met.
(5) The initial nonrefundable $120 permit fee ($40 for directional sign).

	

	Any false statements or omission of attachments above may cause rejection of application.
I hereby certify that there have been no misrepresentations of any facts regarding this application and items 1-5.

	

	Signature (Owner/Agent): 
	
	Date
	

	

	
	Department of Transportation Use Only
	

	
	Approved:  The sign is (Check one)
	[bookmark: Check18]|_|
	Nonconforming
	Reason for Nonconformity: 
	     
	 

	
	[bookmark: Check20]|_| Conforming
	[bookmark: Check17]or     |_|  Directional, with North Carolina Outdoor Advertising Control Act and rules and regulations promulgated by the Department of Transportation.
	

	
	Zoning Type:
	     
	Zoned by: 
	     
	

	
	
	

	
	If Unzoned Commercial/Industrial, Qualifying Activity is:
	[bookmark: Text13]     
	

	
	
	

	
	District Engineer:
	
	Date
	
	

	
	NCDOT Outdoor Advertising Coordinator:
	
	Date
	
	

	
	
	

	
	(Over)



Please contact the applicable Regional Coordinator by County to submit your application packet and fee.  Email for the Reg. Coordinators are: (Coordinator’s) firstname.lastname@volkert.com

	Region 1 (919) 622-9181
	Region 2 (252) 904-1760
	Region 3 (910) 639-3564

	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
1701 W. 5th St. Washington, NC  27889
Att. Stephen Gardner
	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
3013 US 64A, Nashville, NC  27856
Att. Edward Love
	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
9020 N. Sandhills Blvd. NC  28315
Att. Johnny Ransdell

	Counties:  Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene,  Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington
	Counties:  Bertie, Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Nash, Northampton, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne, Wilson
	Counties:  Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett,              New Hanover, Hoke, Lee, Moore, Richmond,  Robeson, Scotland, Sampson

	
	
	

	Region 4 (919) 427-1510
	Region5 (704) 723-1424
	Region 6 (828) 817-0290

	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
1584 Yanceyville St. Greensboro, NC  27415-4996
Att. Eric Thrasher
	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
130 So. Sutherland, Monroe, NC  28112
Att. Mason Thompson
	North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
4142 Haywood Rd. Mills River, NC  28742
Att. Mark Thomas

	Counties:  Alamance, Alleghany, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Granville, Guilford, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin
	Counties:  Alexander,  Anson, Ashe,  Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Stanly,  Union, Wilkes
	Counties:  Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Yancey

	
	
	



Form OA-1B shall be used to apply for a permit to maintain an existing sign structure that was erected prior to the Outdoor Advertising Control Act or before the route became part of the National Highway System (NHS).  The application shall be submitted to the Department of Transportation, Division of Highways’ District Engineer for the county in which the sign is located.

The size of the advertising shall include the base or apron, supports, and other structural members if advertising messages will be shown thereon.  The area shall be measured by the smallest square, rectangle, triangle, circle or combination thereof which will encompass the entire sign.  The maximum size limitations shall apply to each side of a sign structure and the signs may be placed side-by-side, or in V-type construction.
	
The identification tag (permit emblem) that will be issued at the time of permit approval must be attached to the sign, visible and readable from the main-traveled way within thirty (30) days.  The sign shall also bear the sign owner’s name.

	PERMIT FEES:  A nonrefundable check payable to the North Carolina Department of Transportation in the amount $120.00 for each sign permit application must accompany the completed application.  An annual renewal fee of $60 for each sign permit is due by April 15.  An invoice will be sent to the sign owner for payment.

	This permit does not grant permission for destruction of trees, shrubs, or other growth located on the right of way in order to increase or enhance the visibility of an outdoor advertising structure.  Applications for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits may be obtained from the appropriate division roadside environmental engineer.  It is unlawful to violate the control of access on interstate, freeway, or other controlled access facilities.  Violators may be prosecuted in these instances and sign permit will be revoked. 
    
              Non-Conforming Permits: Permits that have the status of non-conforming may only be maintained within the State or Federal Rules and Regulations and must remain the substantially the same as it was on the effective date of the state law or regulations

UNLAWFUL ADVERTISING:  Should any outdoor advertising be maintained in violation of “ The Outdoor Advertising Control Act,”  the Department of Transportation or its agents shall give thirty (30) days’ notice, with the exception of the owner of unlawful portable outdoor advertising for which the Department of Transportation shall give five (5) days’ notice to remove the outdoor advertising or make it conform to the provisions of this article.  The Department of Transportation or its agents shall have the right to remove the illegal outdoor advertising thirty (30) days after notification or five (5) days for owners of portable outdoor advertising at the expense of the owner if owner fails to act.	

REVOCATION OF PERMIT:  The permit is subject to all applicable rules and regulations and is subject to revocation for violations thereof.
  
              *Location The official location of a sign structure will be the GPS Latitude/Longitude location as recorded during the initial Inventory.
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