Buford Smith Excellence in Traffic Engineering Award Recipients

Year	Name	Division/Branch	Business Unit	Position
1983	Floyd Lawrence	Highway Division 5	Traffic Services	Traffic Services Supervisor
1984	Troy Peoples (deceased)	Traffic Engineering Branch	Traffic Control Unit	Traffic Control Project Engineer
1985	Woodie Warrick, Jr.	Traffic Engineering Branch	Field Operations Unit	Area Traffic Engineer
1986	William Andrew (Andy) Ward (deceased)	Traffic Engineering Branch	Traffic Engineering Branch	Assistant State Traffic Engineer
1987	Stephen William (Steve) Haynes (deceased)	Highway Division 4	Traffic Services	Traffic Services Crew Leader (retired)
1988	Ray Goff	Highway Division 6	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer
1989	W.E. (Bill) Hamlin	Highway Division 13	Traffic Services	Traffic Services Supervisor
1990	W.E. (Pete) Edwards (deceased)	Highway Division 2	Traffic Services	Signal Technician Supervisor
1991	Glenn Johnson	Highway Division 12	Traffic Services	Traffic Services Supervisor
1992	A.D. (Tony) Wyatt	Traffic Engineering Branch	Congestion Management Section	Design Review Project Engineer
1993	Terry Moore Hopkins	Traffic Engineering Branch	Traffic Control Unit	Unit Head
1994	Fred Zeilman (deceased)	Highway Division 6	Traffic Services	Traffic Sign Crew Leader
1995	Kenneth J. Putnam	Highway Division 13	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer
1996	J.D. (Pee Wee) Edwards	Highway Division 5	Traffic Services	Traffic Signal Technician Supervisor
1997	Larry N. Stallings	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	Field Operations Unit	Area Traffic Engineer
1998	Jim Kellenberger	Division of Highways	State Highway Administrator's Office	Training Coordinator
1999	John Permar	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	Traffic Field Operations Unit	Unit Head
2000	Jimmy Lynch (deceased, awarded posthumously)	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	State Traffic Engineer (retired)
2001	Gary Faulkner	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	Congestion Management Section	Access Management Engineer
2002	Tom Thrower (deceased)	Highway Division 10	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer
2003	Steve Johnson	Highway Division 5	Traffic Engineering	Assistant Division Traffic Engineer
2004	L. Franklin Bullock (deceased)	Highway Division 6	Traffic Services	Traffic Services Paint Supervisor
2005	Roger Hawkins	Highway Division 3	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer (retired)
2006	Vance Barham	Highway Division 7	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer (retired)

Buford Smith Excellence in Traffic Engineering Award Recipients

Year	Name	Division/Branch	Business Unit	Position
2007	Mark Harrison	Traffic Engineering and Safety Systems Branch	ITS and Signals Unit	Signal Equipment Design Review Engineer
2008	Meredith McDiarmid	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Work Zone Traffic Control Unit	Project Engineer
2009	Sam Nichols	Highway Division 12	Traffic Engineering	Division Traffic Engineer
2010	Elbert Edge	Highway Division 6	Traffic Services	Electronic Technician III (retired)
2011	Brian Mayhew	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Traffic Safety Systems Management Engineer
2012	Vickie Embry	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Triad Regional Traffic Engineer
2013	D.D. (Bucky) Galloway	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Western Regional Field Operations Engineer
2014	R.J. (Jeff) Jaeger	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Mobility and Safety Information Engineer
2015	P. Haywood Daughtry, III	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Eastern Regional Field Operations Engineer
2016	Shawn Troy	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Safety Evaluation Engineer
2017	Charles Durwin Rice	Highway Division 13	Traffic Engineering	Deputy Division Traffic Engineer
2018	Cindy B. Millikin	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Division Project Manager
2019	Lisa Avery	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Safety Unit	Traffic Safety Project Engineer
2020	J. Kevin Lacy	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	State Traffic Engineer
2021	Andy H. Brown	Highway Division 4	Highway Division 4 Administration	Deputy Division 4 Engineer
2022	Jennifer L. Portanova	Transportation Mobility and Safety Division	Traffic Systems Management & Operations Unit	State Traffic Systems Operations Engineer