North Carolina W orkplace Laws

Notice to Employees

Safety and Health on the Job (OSHA)

N.C. Department of Labor Responsibilities

The state of North Carolina has a federally approved program to administer the Occupational Safety
and Health Act (QSHA) in North Carolina. This program is administered by the N,C. Department of
Labor's Division of Qccupational Safety and Health (OSH).

As the OSHA administrator for this state, the OSH Division has the following responsibilities and
powers:

» Employee Complaints—FEmployees or their representatives have the right to file an O5HA complaint
any time they believe an unsafe or unhealthy condition exists in their workplace. Complaints dealing
with an unsafe condition or accident should be made in a timely manner. Names of complainants will
be kept confidential at their request.

Once an OSH inspector has arrived at the workplace, employees have the right to point out conditions
that they feel are unsafe or unhealthy, Any employer who retallates in any way against an employee for
filing a complaint or assisting an inspector is breaking the law, The Department of Labor will investi-
gate and may prosecute employers who take such action.

« Inspections—The OSH Division conducts workplace inspections for several reasons. They can be
triggered by complaints, accidents or because that workplace has been randomly selected for a sur-
prise inspection,

Inspections are conducted by trained and qualified safety officers and/or industrial hygienists. Authorized
employer representatives and a representative authorized by the site’s employees may accompany the
inspector for the purpese of aiding the inspection. The inspector will talk privately Lo a reasonable number
of ernployees during the inspection.

« Citations—Following an inspection, the emplayer may be cited for one or more violations of the OSHA
standards. An OSHA citation may include a monetary penalty, It will always give the employer a set
amount of time to correct the viglation in order to avoid further action.

» Fines and Penalties—An employer can be fined up to $7,000 for each “serious” violation. A fine also
can be assessed for a “nonserious” violation. An additional maximum $7,000 penalty can be assessed for
each day an employer [ails to correct or abate a violation after the allotted time Lo do so has passed.

An employer who has been found to willfully violate an OSHA standard can be fined up to $70,000
per “willful” violation. This level of penalty can also be assessed against any employer whao is found
with a “repeated violation™ at a worksite.

Criminal penalties may apply against emplayers wha are found guilty of willfully viclating any stan-
dard, rule or regulation that has resulted in an employee's death. If convicted of such a violation, the
employer shall pay a penalty of up to $10,000 or be imprisoned for six months, or both. A repeated con-
viction of such a case doubles these penalties.

» OSHA Standards—The division adopts all federally mandated OSHA regulations, called standards.
The OSH Division can adopt these standards as written by the federal government or can rewrite them,
as long as the new version is as strict or stricter, to meet state conditions.

The public may get a copy of any specific standard adopted by the OSH Division free of charge or buy
a collection of standards such as the “General Industry” or “Construction Industry” standards for a
nominal cost. Write the division or call 1-800-NC-LABOR or (919) 807-2875 for more inforrnation.



